+ 92 21 32623382 / 83 + 44 20 8551 2345 contact@ansarburney.org

SHC called comments on Ansar Burney Trust petition against VIP protocol

Project Info

Project Description

KARACHI: The Sindh High Court directed the Government to file comments on a petition filed by the Chairman of Ansar Burney Trust International and former Federal Minister for human rights, Mr Ansar Burney, Advocate against VIP and VVIP protocols enjoyed by politicians, public functionaries and other high profile personalities during their movement.

The Sindh High Court (SHC) was informed on Thursday that there are no guidelines of the law department that allow protocol to VIP personalities.

Mr Ansar Burney, who heads the Ansar Burney Trust International, requested the SHC to take notice of what he said was a violation of the fundamental human rights of citizens.

On Thursday, Shagufta Burney and Mohammad Danish Ali Director and Manager of Ansar Burney Trust filed a statement supported by an official letter. They argued that the law department in its letter, dated February 4, had stated that there is no law in the field that provides guideline for protocol duties in the province.

Additional advocate-general Ghulam Mustafa Mahesar requested for time to go through the letter and submit a response. Headed by chief justice Sajjad Ali Shah, the bench granted time till May 10.

Mr Ansar Burney submitted that the motorcades of public functionaries, including members of the parliament, ministers, their representatives and leaders of political parties, which are denoted as VIP or VVIP movement/protocol was a common thing that had become a menace for society.

He requested the court to direct the respondents and enforce that the roads/routes should not be blocked during any VIP and VVIP movements. The petitioner also sought a direction for the President House, the Prime Minister House and provincial government not to infringe or curtail public liberty or violate fundamental rights by closing down services centers like airports, hospitals or suspending their normal operations.

The secretaries to the president house, the prime minister house, the interior ministry, the provincial home department and chief secretary were cited as respondents in the petition.